top of page
Search
  • branalifarm

Milk Machine: Simple Pulse

If you know me, you know I'm a little extra. So I didn't get the standard set up, rather customized to what would work best for us. Here’s the details of what I bought, in order of selection on the Simple Pulse shopping page:

I did buy the "6CFM" upgrade for the unit so that I can, in the future, milk two goats at one time- if I ever build a second milk stand!

We got the "Silicone hose with Nigerian Inflations", as silicone is a plastic alternative I’m comfortable with in our kitchen (we’re generally plastic free, using only glass or stainless when possible). I’ll possibly replace them from a general source next time, rather than buying replacements from SP if pricing is better. They last 1.5-2 years with light use, so I’m ready to replace soon.

A note, the inflations also have replacement parts, so you can save a little by saving your shells and replacing the soft parts when they wear out, but I'm going to buy a whole second set of lines, so that I have two full sets, and I'll replace the parts of the old inflations (again, so I can milk two at once).


This is where I got really special. I milk into Wide-Mouth half gallon mason jars (as thats the way I store milk, so milking into the same jar I saving on dishes.) The Universal Milking Lids let me milk directly into the Mason Jar, so I did NOT buy the 3" jars they include (from ULINE).

A note about the All In One Lid: they have a disposable filtration disc on the lid, but I don't like the old disposable filters from Caprine, as they are made of blown plastic (think disposable surgical mask) and it smells chemically. I can only assume Simple Pulse is using a similar product, but I didn't actually ask.


Filtration: As we're not using the all in one lid, I use a in-line milk filter instead. Its AWESOME! It filters out stray hair, and lets you check if there’s a clump of milk.

Other notes: Definitely buy the replacement parts set! I’ve use the filters and a tiny metal screen from it.

I DO still strip out before milking and hand milk to fully empty after milking. It takes about 90-120 seconds to milk, and I do massage the udder and hold the inflations.


Let me know if you have any questions!

Ali


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page